Gung Hei Faat Choi!

The Year of the Snake

A bit belated, I suppose, but still worth a mention: my very first Chinese New Year! The shops shut, fireworks went off, everything turned red and shiny and we got a five day weekend! Not much happened, in the way that not much happens in the UK for a few days over Christmas, as people get together with their families and eat themselves in to oblivion. I was lucky enough to spend some time with an actual, real-life Chinese family and so here is my five point guide to CNY 2013: The Year of the Snake.

Crowded Market

1: Causeway Bay New Year’s Market. The busiest place on earth, probably, when I visited. Although there were three long passageways lined with stalls you couldn’t get near to buying anything without wielding a baseball bat. You just went with the human flow until you got spat out at one end, before turning back and having another go. People seemed to be having fun, though.

Lai-See

2: Lai-See. Little red packets of money that are exchanged as gifts over the course of the New Year. Even I got some! As a general rule, married couples give to unmarried couples, relatives give to kids, employers to employees. If you ever happen to get a lai-see don’t open it in front of the giver – terribly bad form as far as the Chinese are concerned.

Turnip Cake Turnip Cake

3: Turnip Cake. Pretty much the mince pie of Chinese New Year. It is a cake, made from turnip and (although my photography may not be doing it justice) it isn’t bad at all.

Hot :Pot

4: Hot Pot, or Big Bowl Feast. The roast turkey dinner of Chinese New Year. Basically a pot of boiling stock in to which one chucks, well, whatever one fancies eating. It’s not just for CNY, it’s a kind of winter-warmer (which in temperatures of 15 degrees Celsius seems a tad unnecessary…). I do like it, and it’s a very sociable way of eating, but there comes a point after two hours when you fish a well-boiled blob out from the depths and wonder whether it’s chicken, mushroom or a duck’s tongue. That’s when you should call it a day.

Pumpkin/Melon seeds

5: Pumpkin and Melon Seeds. The Chinese New Year snack. Very tasty; but not really worth the effort of cracking and peeling and eventually losing half of it on the floor anyway. After a while I resorted to Pistachios…

I’m sure that this doesn’t cover half that stuff that I should mention, but they are the lasting memories I’ll have of this Chinese New Year. As I mentioned earlier, we are now in the Year of the Snake (capital letters for dramatic effect) – and I wish you all the best for it. I recently discovered that I’m an Ox – the least glamorous animal in the Chinese Zodiac – and to rub salt in the wound I was born a mere week away from being a Tiger.

I’ll end with something else I just found out: the third day of Chinese New Year is known as Chek Hau – the day of squabbles. After several days of traipsing round visiting relatives, Chek Hau is seen as an unlucky day to visit or receive guests as you will likely end up arguing, so people are advised to stay at home and watch the telly. What a brilliant idea…

2 comments

  1. If you are still in UK, we should talk about this. I searched for people who spelt Gung Hei Faat Choi correctly, and you are one of the few who spelt the Cantonese correctly!

    • whatididinhongkong · September 29, 2015

      Thanks! I didn’t realise there was a correct way to spell Cantonese words in English, but I’m glad you think I’ve done a good job!

Leave a Reply

